Copy and Edit, or Archive a Used Rubric
Once a rubric has been used to assess student work, you cannot delete the rubric, nor can you edit the rubric name, description, levels, or criteria unless you first make a copy of the rubric. You can then make changes in the new copy. You can also archive the old version if desired.
Note: this is not the same as copying a rubric from one course to another. To copy a rubric from one course to another course, see Copy Course Content.
A rubric that has been used will display a Lock icon.
Copy/Edit a Rubric
Copying a rubric creates a new rubric based on an existing rubric. The new rubric has the same properties, levels, and criteria, allowing you to easily make changes if needed, and reuse it in a new course.
- On the nav bar, select the Assessment menu, then click Rubrics.
- On the locked rubric page, find the rubric you want to make a copy of. From the context menu, select Copy. Note: If you cannot find the rubric because it exists in another course, see Copy Course Content.
- Click on the context menu of the new copied rubric to edit it. For instructions on editing this new rubric, see Edit a Rubric.
Archive a Rubric
You cannot delete a rubric which has been used to assess student work from a course. However, if you wish to hide an old version of a rubric so that you do not confuse it with a newly copied rubric, you can set the status of the old rubric to Archived.
- On the Rubrics page, find the rubric you want to archive.
- From the context menu, click Set Status, then select Archived.
- The old rubric will be Archived in this course, but will remain Published in other courses. The Archived rubric will no longer appear in this course’s default list of rubrics, but can still be located by modifying the search options. The Archived rubric is also not available for new associations in this course.